I, Frankenstein (2013)

A modern take on Frankenstein sounds like an intriguing story. That’s what I thought when I heard about the film I, Frankenstein. Granted, I was a little hesitant about seeing Aaron Eckhart in a lead role of that nature, but I figured I would give it a go if I ever came across it on DVD.

I finally got around to seeing I, Frankenstein last night, and let me tell you, it was definitely a roller coaster, but not a very good one.

-spoilers-

The movie starts out with a very interesting story. It reminds the viewer about the tale of Frankenstein and his monster, and brings in a world of demons and gargoyles in a constant struggle over humanity. Gargoyles are cool. Demons are decent. It seemed really promising.

It really was for the most part. Eckhart’s character is named Adam by the queen of the gargoyle order and she tries to get him to live with the gargoyles and fight for their cause. Adam decides otherwise, and this leads the viewer to modern day. The conflict between gargoyles and demons is still going strong, and Adam finds himself caught between both sides.

This is where the movie began to drag for me. A team of scientists is introduced, unknowingly working for the demons. Together, they are attempting to successfully reanimate the dead, and for this, they require Frankenstein’s monster, or Frankenstein’s journal.

It seemed like the story was trying to create some sort of love story between Adam and the female scientist, and it wasn’t hitting home for me. She mentions a couple of things about how Frankenstein never made Adam a companion, Adam insists on protecting her, and by the end of the movie she is correcting everyone who refers to Adam as “it” instead of “he.” That’s about as much of a love story as was hinted at, but that entire portion couldn’t be over soon enough.

When the film tries to return to the action, it just fell apart. Throughout the film, it has been repeatedly said that Adam lacks a soul. This makes it possible for him to kill the gargoyle that is sent to destroy him. Barely 15 minutes later, the demons’ plan to use Adam is foiled because he does have a soul. Where did it come from? They never really say. I was so agitated by this plot hole that it gave me hiccups for hours. The queen of the gargoyles does mention something about him discovering his true purpose, but really? That made a soul pop up like a daisy? No.

Overall, I would probably not recommend I, Frankenstein. You could probably pass on it and be okay.

Leave a Reply

