Social Media Management

I operate as social media manager for 2 different entities, plus managing my own media presence. There are really two very important rules to follow and that is 1) Content is key and 2) Time is of the essence. These are really the main things to remember and it is much harder than it looks.

Content is Key

When trying to create a media presence, it is important to keep posting new content. I know a lot of people snub their noses when they receive a ton of emails in the morning or when a Twitter feed is filled with nonstop updates, but that is really the only way to keep people interested. If there isn’t any new content, then people will stop checking your site. It’s as simple as that.

This is a problem that I have with one of the entities in which I’m managing the social media presence. There really is no content to be posting. In the past, I have tried going on my own and creating content to keep viewers interested, but I found myself being reprimanded by the producer for doing so. Needless to say it has severely dampened any interest I have in devoting my own time to creating content. This Facebook page remains barren with not a single post in 6-7 months and the amount of people engaged with the entity really reflects this.

Time is of the Essence

The thing about social media and the internet in general is that it has seriously decreased people’s attention span. They want their information short, sweet and to the point. Not to mention, they don’t want to have to wait days for an update like they did back in the days where postage mail and Sunday papers were the reigning means of information and contact. Viewers carry around computers in their pockets that get them the information they want whenever they want it. We have to be ready to create our content just like that.

This brings in an example from the second page that I co-manage with a second person. The production company created a program that would be airing on television, and we told viewers that they would hear from us what day it would be airing as soon as we found out. When we found out, it didn’t end up that way. Instead, a second party was told before we spread the word to our viewers, so our viewers heard from someone else before they heard from us. We ended up not making a post about it until almost 2 days after we could have and should have.

When it all comes together, creating content every day and making sure that news is delivered as timely as possible is a massive chore. Since I also manage my own media presence, I can really do a lot with it. This blog post is part of managing my media presence. I try as hard as I possibly can to make a blog post every day. I’m not going to lie. Somedays this doesn’t work out in my favor. Either I can’t think of what to write about or I have other obligations that make posting impossible. I still have to try. On my Facebook page, I try to make a post there every day as well, separate from this blog. It all adds up, and it’s no wonder that this is a career for people.

I guess the point of this post is to really solidify the fact that you shouldn’t knock the job of being a social media manager. It’s a lot more work than you’d expect.

Leave a Reply

