Project Greenlight

I heard about this from my mother last week, a film competition sponsored by HBO, Matt Damon and Ben Affleck.

It seems pretty interesting. I’d love to give it a go, but I just don’t know if I’ll have the time to submit something that I’m really proud of in such a short amount of time. If I had heard about it a little sooner, I would already be involved doing something.

The submissions open on July 24th, and as I’m writing this, it’s July 10th. That gives me a little over 2 weeks to complete a short film that is worthy enough to be entered into something. I just don’t see myself being able to do that in this time frame.

It would be a different story if I had a bunch of 3 minute ideas piled up, just waiting for an excuse to be made, but I don’t. The Padido script isn’t something I would deem worthy. That’s just for fun. My Lights script is far longer than 3 minutes. Other than an Office themed show about production and a teaser trailer idea about a thriller birthday party, I’ve got nothing.

Therefore, I’d have to come up with a script and write it out cohesively as well as do some decent casting and film a better than average product and edit it elegantly, all within about 2 weeks. This is on top of the rest of my freelance work and my part time job. I just don’t see it happening.

I wish it was something I had the time to do though. It is a great opportunity.

One response to “Project Greenlight

  1. Pingback: Project Greenlight: The Decision | Haley Noelle Cummings

Leave a Reply

