Watermarks

It’s an unfortunate fact that when uploading your work onto the internet, there is a good chance that some people will ignore copyright law and use your work incorrectly. For example, a common internet trend is to take someone else’s work and repost it, claiming it as your own.

If you’re the type of person to think about doing such a thing, save everyone the trouble and don’t do it.

I’ve seen it happen countless amounts of times, and I’m even going through an ordeal with a client about a similar situation. It’s a massive pain in the neck, but unfortunately it is something that all artists need to take steps to protect themselves from.

The best way that I’ve found to safeguard your work is to upload it with a watermark of your name or your company’s name. I do this mostly with my professional photographs when I upload them to the internet. I make my watermark large and transparent enough to be seen while not interfering too much with the photo and also being hard to edit out.

This makes me feel safer about showing my work to a global internet audience, but I know that there are still risks in doing so.

Today will be the first time that I’ve suggested using a watermark in a video that was uploaded online. I think it will be a good practice to start doing from now on, especially with the current client troubles that are occurring. We can probably work with this watermark a little more to make sure it’s harder to tamper with.

Leave a Reply

