Last First Day of School

… At least for a while. I’m still undecided about graduate studies.

Today marks the last day of my last summer vacation. It’s too bad I didn’t realize it was the last one a little sooner. I might have tried to do a little more.

Tomorrow, I’ll start fall semester. It will finally be my senior year of college. It’s been a long time coming for that, I’ll tell you. I still have to put some school supplies together to prepare, but I’m not too worried. This semester should be a decently light one.

I’ll be taking two classes toward my psychology minor (marital/family therapy and gender, sexuality, and society). These will be mostly lecture I’m assuming, so unless I go to write academic papers or embark on a large project, there won’t really be much talk about these.

The more important note about this semester is that I’ll be starting on my senior seminars in communication. The curriculum changed in the middle of me getting my degree so instead of just one class, now there’s two. I’ve come to just accept it. Since it’s just changing, there is a small discrepancy about one final credit I needed for the previous curriculum. I might have to start some chaos in order to get that taken care of.

My first senior seminar will be like my senior project. I won’t know too many details until I attend the class. Right now, I’m planning on doing a short film. I have several ideas of what to do, but I’m not sure what they are really looking for. Knowing my luck, none of my ideas will fit what they’re looking for. For a while now, I’ve been considering making my film, “Lights,” as my senior project, but as it draws closer, I’m reconsidering it. I’ve been coming up with the plot for Lights for over a year now, and I’m not sure if I want to make that on a deadline and schedule that’s not my own. It has the potential to be my most complex project so far, and I want to be able to devote all of my time to it.

The second senior seminar will be like an internship of sorts. This is the class that’s giving me trouble for that last credit I need. The old curriculum required students to do three semesters of one credit of practicum, an in-house internship with Spartan Media. I’ve already done two of my three semesters, leaving me with that last credit. The new curriculum only requires the senior year to do a four credit internship for Spartan Media. I’ve signed up for that one because I need those four credits to reach my quota for graduation. I’ve already cleared it with my professor that the new class will clear for that last thing I need, but they haven’t put it officially on my program evaluation.

Enough with that nonsense, for the internship thing I’ll be doing, I’ll have to apply for a position of my choosing based on my talents. I’ll work this position for Spartan Media throughout the school year. I’m not entirely certain of what positions are available for me to apply for or what I would want to apply for. I’ll find out more about that when I attend the class. I have a strong feeling that one of my professors will want me to be directing their programs though.

I’ll give more information about these classes as soon as I know it myself.

Leave a Reply

