Ice Bucket Secrets

As I mentioned in my previous post about the #ALSIcebucketchallenge, I had mixed feelings about the additional water consumption. I was indecisive about what I would do if I were nominated myself.

Of course, this meant that I would be nominated the very next day after making that post.

During that night, I spent a lot of time hearing the thoughts of those affected by ALS, and what the viral sensation of the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge meant to them. I decided that it was a cause I could stand behind, despite my apprehensions. This meant that while I would take the challenge, I wanted to do it in a way that made me feel better about my own water consumption.

I decided to use rain water for my ice bucket challenge. I had been thinking about that as a possibility for quite some time, and on the day I was supposed to take the challenge, it presented itself perfectly. I was able to film the bucket being filled with rain, but that footage didn’t make it into the final video. There really was no place for it, although I wish there had been. It’s one of the parts I’m proud of.

This post is being written in response to Matt Damon using toilet water for his ice bucket challenge. While I still don’t entirely agree with his method, I can see his reasoning and motivation (being that he’s both the co-founder of water.org and a resident of drought-ridden California).

The interesting thing is those on the internet who are so defensive about being told that the challenge is a bit of a waste of water when done in such large amounts. They will immediately start saying that “you waste more water in your shower” or “your toilet uses way more water in a day than the challenge will,” but what is the point?

While yes, daily showers and toilet flushes are a dramatic amount of water consumption, does that mean that pouring an extra bucket of water on your head is not a waste of water? It’s additional water consumption, and people should not be shut down for saying that it is.

In the end, all that matters to me is that I raised awareness and donated funds to a cause that really needs the boost, and I did so in a way that fit with my ideals.

Leave a Reply

