Spartan Interview

Another thing I brought up so long ago but never followed up on was the potential of having a job with the Spartan Media Organization at my university.

Since my last update, I was able to look at the job postings and actually fill out my resume and cover letter. I applied for the position of cultural programming director, and I was pretty confident that I would be able to get that position. I had my interview this week, and it went well, but not in the way I was expecting.

I walked in all dressed up because, in my mind, if I dressed professional I’d be more confident to answer my interview questions. My interview morphed into more of brainstorming session very quickly though.

Apparently, only 5 or 6 people applied to be on the cultural programming team to begin with, so that means that a lot of the bigger productions that were originally planned would be impossible. My professor and I were talking about some of the more field production oriented things that we could do, and then insert into the news broadcast.

At the same time, no one applied to be the cultural programming producer, and my professor felt that I would be more qualified for that position (a higher position) than what I had applied for. I knew that I was more qualified for the producer role, but I hadn’t applied for it because I had some worries about my pull on campus. I didn’t think that I would be able to produce a big production show without knowing everyone on campus. With the small amount of people I would be managing though, those worries don’t really matter as much.

I haven’t gotten the official email with my professor offering me the position of cultural programming producer yet, but I’m about 95% certain that’s the position I’ll be hired for. It will be a really good thing for me, and it will be a great line on my resume when it comes to applying for jobs after graduation.

One response to “Spartan Interview

  1. Pingback: Cultural Programming Producer | Haley Noelle Cummings

Leave a Reply

