AU ScreenPlay

Today was the first shoot for the show I’ll be producing for AU Spartan Media, ScreenPlay. Since the shoot itself has finished, I feel I can share my experience with it. Hopefully it will help me learn from my mistakes and better prepare for next week.

There have been a lot of communication problems since the beginning for my team. We’re a very small group, and everyone has a title or leadership role, so it took a while for everyone to really know what their roles were going to be. Sometimes I think we’re still trying to figure it out. Since we’re so small, a lot of our help, both in content and crew, will have to come from volunteers who have no obligation to help consistently. This makes it difficult to keep communication with these volunteers.

There was a meeting about two weeks ago in which there was two volunteers sitting in. They gave their opinions on what we should do for our show and as a team in general, but then one of them left without even sharing her name with us and the other gave her email, but never responded to me again. Neither of them showed up for our shoot today.

As a team, we’re relying heavily on emails for communication. Some of us shared phone numbers today, but for large amounts of information and file sharing, it has to be email. Not everyone is good with emails, and working on something like this really brings that into perspective. It can be frustrating at times. I won’t lie.

One of my biggest upsets about this shoot is how I didn’t feel like my role as a producer for the show was being respected. People were going to others about questions for my show and I was hearing information from people secondhand. Coming from a professional standpoint, that’s not okay. It’s hard for me to remember that although I do this professionally, this show is not being done in a professional setting, and I need to give some level of slack to the other students I’m working with. I don’t want to let them walk all over me, and I won’t, but I can’t go off on them like I would if it were a paid gig.

Nonetheless, the shoot went pretty okay. We hit our target time of 5-6 minutes. In the future, we’re going to go for a longer show with a lot more detail which I’m very excited to start working on. I want to try to make this show something that people look forward to watching every week, not just an obligation that my team has to make every week.

In future shoots, I hope to start taking production photos and such, getting more interactive with Twitter, and just getting a buzz started. I hope it all goes well.

Leave a Reply

