ScreenPlay and Moving Forward

This past Friday, my culture team recorded two full length episodes of ScreenPlay. In the first episode, I was featured for my review on Annabelle which was published in The Spartan Chronicle last week. Our host provided the second review for the TV series Parenthood, and then for our last thoughts we talked about the premiere episode of American Horror Story: Freakshow.

The episode has been uploaded to YouTube, and is available for watching right now.

Preparation for this shoot was a little easier, but still not as good as I’d like it to be. I’m still having a hard time getting in touch with everyone, and I’m almost certain now that no one reads my emails. I had to assert my authority as producer on a couple of occasions because my team wasn’t aware of the preparations I had already made and was trying to put their own format together.

It was quite frustrating to sit there and hear that they weren’t aware of the script changes when I had sent them the scripts ahead of time. I’m going to have to start cc’ing my professor into the emails so he knows that I am communicating. Their lack of understanding about the shoot itself looked bad on my part even though I had discussed the plan on several occasions. I will also have to initiate a rule that everyone must send me a confirmation email to notify me that they have received and read my emails.

At that same shoot, we recorded for episode 3 as well, which will be uploaded later this week. Due to the fact that our shoots are on Fridays, our time is often cut short due to holiday weekends, and that was the case for this week.

Looking forward, I’m anxious to start getting reviews from other students to incorporate into the show. Hopefully the hashtag that we’re trying to implement will help in this regard. Our culture editor is also looking to recruit fresh faces for our reviews.

Leave a Reply

