31 Days of Reviews: AHS Freakshow

Rather than being about The Returned, as I originally had planned it to be, this review will talk about the premiere of the new season of American Horror Story: Freakshow.

As of this time, I’ve only seen the first episode, so I won’t be going off of more than that.

This season of AHS is definitely going to be a slow burner. I expect a lot of people won’t like it just because it isn’t as scary (for lack of a better word) as Hell House, the first season and definitely the best season so far.

One thing about AHS that I’ve always noticed is that the show runners definitely aren’t afraid to go into risqué topics. In Hell House, we touched upon several topics like extramarital affairs, rape, suicide, drug use, etc. In Asylum, we looked at the treatment of mental illness, especially the view of homosexuality as an illness which was prevalent during the setting of the season (I have yet to finish the entire season of Asylum, so I’m sure more things were shown than this). In Coven, we started out with a pretty decent feminist storyline which slowly began to fall apart as the season went on, but it also looked at the fear of aging, racism and slavery.

This trend does not seem to be lacking in Freakshow, the show’s fourth season. From the first episode, we’ve already seen a homicidal clown with some obvious emotional distress, recurring cast members portraying people with physical abnormality, women having sexual needs, narcissism, and in-group vs. out-group dynamics based on physical prejudice.

I can definitely see some negativity toward this season in the future. For example, I know the clown community is probably very displeased. I would not be surprised, and I would not blame anyone, if there were people who were offended by the portrayal of people in Freakshow with the portrayed physical abnormality.

As of right now, I can’t really predict where this season will be going or where it will rank in relation to previous seasons. After all, I’ve only seen one episode so far. Needless to say, I’m pretty sure AHS Freakshow will continue to have pretty decent ratings, and I will try to stick around to see where it attempts to go.

American Horror Story: Freakshow airs on Wednesday nights at 9 PM CST on FX.

Leave a Reply

