31 Days of Reviews: The Walking Dead (AMC)

This review will focus on the season 5 so far, specifically the premiere episode, comparing to the finale of season 4.

I think I can speak for a lot of people, when I say that I was disappointed in the finale of season 4 of The Walking Dead. I’m not saying that it was a bad episode. It was actually really good, really engaging, really dramatic. It was great until the last.. 15 seconds? Maybe less?

The group found themselves in a truly sticky situation. They were trapped. They had no weapons. They were finally back together again, for the first time since mid-season, but they were undeniably screwed. They all looked toward Rick for words of encouragement, because despite their predicament, he seemed pretty joyful.

“They’re gonna feel really silly when they find out…” he says.

The whole group looks to Rick in anticipation. The camera moves in toward his face, and the music is dripping with tension. He turns toward the camera dramatically.

“They’re messing with the wrong people!” he exclaims. Cut to black. Roll credits.

The entire fandom erupted in a fit of disappointed rage. Really, Rick? They’re messing with the wrong people? I think you’re just still on an adrenaline hike from when you ripped out that guy’s jugular. Here I was thinking that you had planted some explosives within the compound that were going to go off at any second. But no.. They’re messing with the wrong people who have no weapons and are trapped in a cargo trailer which is locked from the outside. I bet they’re quaking in their cannibal boots.

I know that there were a lot of people who were hesitant to even continue watching the show in future seasons just because of that line. It was pretty bad. I was worried about the future of the show.

I’m happy to say that the premiere of season 5 completely abolished all of those worries. It was a perfect continuation to the finale of the previous season with it’s humongous flaw. We saw returned characters, compassion, badassery and pure evil. It was great. It definitely restored hope, in my mind at least, for this new season.

As I’m writing this, I have just finished watching the second episode of season 5. I’m pleased to say that it’s still chugging along with enough steam. We have some recurring villains with unfinished business. There is a returning character on the horizon just waiting to meet back up with the group. We were just introduced to a new character who has some pretty dark secrets just waiting to be revealed. Whether we are able to head to Washington in the near future is still a mystery. Of course, will anyone die? The show has proven that it’s not afraid to kill off characters.

I’m definitely still a fan, and I can’t wait to follow the show as it moves forward.

The Walking Dead airs Sunday nights at 8 PM CST on AMC.

Leave a Reply

