The Beginning of the End

Today marks the beginning of the end..

While that sounds incredibly ominous, I don’t say it with any negative intention at all. It is something that can be pretty scary to think about at times, but it’s still a big achievement and a stepping stone in my life.

Today is the first day of my last semester of undergraduate education. On May 3rd, I’ll receive my bachelors degree in communication, and then I’ll be looking for a job. I’ll be closing the book on school, which has been a constant part of my life for nearly the last 20 years. That’s what’s so scary about it: stepping into the unknown.

I’ve learned a lot through my years in college, but there’s still so much that I’m new to. I only recently started driving myself around more often, so the thought of driving myself to job interviews in new territory is terrifying. I’m worried about finding jobs, and applying for them of course since applications always stress me out. While I worry about these things, and I am scared of the change, I know that I’ll be able to do it.

I’m a creature of habit. I like doing what’s familiar. Change scares me unless I’m entirely ready for it. I guess that’s what I’ll be focusing on in these next 4 months. I’ll be getting ready for it.

Of course, that will have to be around everything else I have going for me during this last semester. I didn’t originally want this to be my busiest semester in terms of credit hours being taken, but that’s definitely how it ended up. I’m taking abnormal psychology to finish off my psychology minor. I’ll be taking a European film course and a screenwriting course to finish off my film studies minor, and of course, I’ll be taking my senior seminars to put a cap on my communication major. I’m hoping that I can enjoy this last semester more than I have previous ones, make it something to look back on fondly.

In the future, I may consider going back for graduate studies. This would help me if I ever wanted to teach at a college or university level. I think I would be all right in graduate studies, since I’m a decent writer and a decent reader, but I don’t feel that now is a good time for that. I feel that it’s time for me to experience something different. I’m getting burnt out of school, despite the fact that I do enjoy it. A break will probably do me good.

I’m hoping that I won’t have too much trouble when trying to get a job. I mean, I’m expecting there to be difficulties. It won’t be a walk in the park, but hopefully having a degree to go along with my years of experience will put me ahead as a woman in a male dominated field.

We shall see.

Leave a Reply

