Two Short Films

I’m writing this post at 3am. I can’t sleep. I’m too nervous. My first day of classes has completely shattered any hopes I had of having an easier semester. I had been worried for quite some time, having nightmares even, that my screenwriting class was going to require me to make a short film. In itself, that’s not so scary at all. It only becomes scary when paired with me already making a short film for my senior project.

I got the syllabus for my screenwriting class, and that nightmare has been realized. I have to make a second 10-15 minute short film.

As I mentioned earlier, this wouldn’t be bad at all if it wasn’t happening at the same time as me producing another 20-30 minute short film for my senior project. I spent the entirety of the fall semester writing and storyboarding for that film. I’m currently trying to schedule the shoots to actually film it. Now I’ll have to create a second film at the same time, and this isn’t including my other three classes. I haven’t even been to those yet.

It’s not that I can’t think of what to make my second film about. That’s not a problem at all. I’m just extremely worried about my availability to make said film on top of everything else. My availability for my retail job was already scarce enough as it was, and now I may have to take more time off. I may even have to quit that job earlier than I had anticipated.

Which film do I focus more of my attention on? Do I split it equally? Do I pay more attention to my senior film? My mind is telling me to give more of my attention to Lights, so that will probably be what I do.

That doesn’t negate the fact that I have to create a second film as well. It’s all very stressful.

Plus, on a less serious but still worrisome note, how am I going to promote this second film? I had a whole plan for how I was going to create interest for Lights and everything, and creating hype for this film completely bogs that plan.

I know that this semester will only continue to add things to my list of worries. I mean, look at this post! It’s only day 1.

3 responses to “Two Short Films

  1. Pingback: Week 1 Thoughts | Haley Noelle Cummings

  2. God that sounds like an intense course – I wish you all the best! So long as you know you can get both done to a good standard I’d suggest focusing a bit more on ‘Lights’ – you’re clearly extremely passionate about it and you’ll get more enjoyment and satisfaction out of your final semester. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

