Week 1 Thoughts

At this point, the first week of my last semester of college is done. I made it. I’ve checked off the week on the syllabi. We’re moving on up. I’m counting down. Etc. Etc…

I’m not going to lie. The week definitely had its ups and downs. While it will definitely be an intense semester, I don’t see it being as intense as the previous semester. At least, it won’t be intense in the same ways.

My Mondays and Wednesdays are going to be difficult. I always forget just how much I’m not pleased with night classes until I have to stay on campus that late. I’m on campus until 10pm on those nights, and it is pretty difficult. This past Wednesday, in my European film class, it was hard to focus on the content because I had a migraine from not having eaten enough. That will definitely take some getting used to, some massive pre-class prepping.

I also found out, as I mentioned previously in Two Short Films, that I’ll have to make a second short film on top of my senior project. This was never part of the equation. I’m going to have to make a lot of adjustments because of that. This is definitely where the intensity of the semester will come from. I’m sure I’ll be able to accomplish it, but it will be stressful all the same.

On the other hand, this semester is very different from my previous semester. None of my classes are incredibly writing intensive, which will help me out a lot. My psychology class will have a final paper, which I already know the topic and criteria necessary. My film studies class will have about 4 papers, which are basically analyses of films. Other than that, it all comes down to my production workload.

I may be speaking too soon when I say that it won’t be that bad. This could very likely turn on me in a matter of days. My senior seminar work that goes on top of my senior film could break me. I’ll have to make an ePortfolio.. a concept that I originally didn’t understand (and still kind of don’t). Apparently it will be a portfolio about what I have learned, including some academic papers I have written, and it will need to be online for viewing? I don’t have all of the details yet. I haven’t read the information packet yet. Oops..

Either way, I’m sure I’ll write about it all at some point if it becomes overwhelming. Or.. I may disappear entirely if it becomes too overwhelming. I hope it doesn’t come to that point. I really want to try to stay on top of my social media presence this time around. I suppose we shall see.

Leave a Reply

