Dinner with the Past

About two weeks ago, I was able to have dinner with a past professor of mine. It was really nice to see him. I was lucky I was able to make it. I had been working a closing shift at my retail job that night, but there wasn’t too much to do, so I was able to make it to the restaurant by 9:30.

It was really nice to see him. I definitely credit this professor with giving me the morale to continue with my education. If it wasn’t for him, I would have gotten a two year applied science degree and been up the creek without a paddle. If it wasn’t for him, I wouldn’t be graduating with a bachelors degree in May. He became my professor when I was going through a really difficult time, and I didn’t think I could do the whole college and work thing. I didn’t think my life was really going to amount to anything anymore. It’s because of him that I was able to overcome that.

We had a nice conversation with lots of catching up. He wanted to know everything I was up to, and of course he was happy for me and the things I’ve accomplished. He was able to talk with me about my current university because he has history there, and we were able to speak critically about a few things. I really do miss him sometimes, so it was nice to meet up.

Apparently he shows my first short film to his classes every semester. He showers it with praise whenever he starts talking about it. Sometimes I wonder if he’s seen any of my other work, then I remember that the film he praises is my best so far, and I should probably be glad he hasn’t seen the others. It would ruin the illusion.

I joke, of course. I’m sure he’d be proud of them simply because I’m doing them. That’s the type of person he is. He has a very humanistic approach to his teaching.

This has definitely been a post of praise for him, but I think it’s a good thing to give thanks where thanks are due. He has really affected my life in a positive way, and I’m grateful for that.

Leave a Reply

