Lights: Special Effects

I mentioned in my previous post that there were a lot of things to say about my short film Lights. At the last time I really gave an update, I think I was just finishing up the basic edit. It must have been weeks ago.

Things have definitely been moving along since then. I handed the edit off to my special effects supervisor. He’s been working very hard to get the special effects done that I needed, and he’s been working even harder to do them in the ways that I want. I’m really glad to have a network of passionate people to work with. Since this is really a volunteer project, I could have been saddled with people who really didn’t care, and the project would have suffered as a result. Luckily, this isn’t the case.

I was able to pre-screen Lights to one of my friends from school a couple of nights ago. I was excited, but also very nervous. I’m always a ball of nerves when showing my work to people, especially when I’m actually acting in it. I couldn’t help but to look away from the screen every time my character was speaking. Overall, she gave me some really great feedback. Her responses to the film made me excited to start showing people. It made me excited to finish it completely and see it all come together.

On that note, when the special effects were completed, or at least almost completed, we handed off the edit to the composer who will be creating all original music for the project. He started working right away, again very thankful for passionate colleagues. I’ve seen some of the work that he’s done for Lights already, and it’s only making me more and more excited. I compiled a list of hit points and descriptions for him the other night. I’m really looking forward to seeing what he comes up with.

I don’t know how many times I’m going to say that I’m excited, but I really am. The whole film is starting to come together, and as of right now, I’m really proud of it. I’ve started doing promotional work for the film, and since it’s my senior project, I’m starting to compile the portfolio with all of the paperwork that went into it.

But yeah, Lights is coming soon!

Leave a Reply

