Approaching Graduation

As I’m writing this post, I’m more than halfway done with my final exams. I only have one more before I’m officially finished with my undergraduate career. It’s been a pretty invigorating experience to see the classes being finished one by one. It’s a great sense of accomplishment. We’re finally there!

When I walked onto campus this evening, I saw the location where our graduation will be held on Sunday afternoon. It will be an outdoor ceremony, most likely will be completely packed. I hope it doesn’t rain. I hope it’s not too warm either. There’s really no controlling it. We’ll just have to wait and see.

Of course, with graduation approaching, this means I’ve been getting the dreaded “What’s next?” question from almost everyone I come into contact with. I’ve got people asking me if I have a job lined up right after graduation. I’ve got people asking me if I’m going to graduate school. I’ve got people asking me so many questions, and to be completely honest, it’s extremely stressful.

I’m fortunate in that I’ve known for a very long time that media production is the field I want to pursue. I never had to go through that moment in college where I had to switch majors because what I’d been pursuing just wasn’t right for me. While I’ve always known what I wanted to do, it’s become less clear what specifically it is that I want to do in the field as I’ve gotten closer and closer to finishing with my bachelors degree.

Do I want to hardcore freelance? Do I want to take over the freelance company? Do I want to continue making short films and pursue the festival circuit? Do I want to work at a company that does contract work for other companies? Do I want to hold out for a job in television at colleges or universities? Do I want to go on to graduate school and get a masters degree so I can teach?

That’s a lot of different choices, and all of them have their pros and cons. Similar to how I’ve been fortunate enough to know what I’ve always wanted to do, I’ve also been fortunate enough to get through my academic career without accumulating any student loan debt. This gives me the privilege of taking however long I want to make the decision about what exactly it is that I want to do.

One of the last things that a peer of mine said to me before I left campus today was, “Don’t give up on the dream” This really meant a lot to me because this is the same peer I had the conversation with previously about Dreams and Reality. That conversation I had with him, mixed with my experiences with my short films Lights and ms and me has definitely rekindled my joy with making short films, and it has placed that option on the table for me again.

I’m sure I’ll come to a decision about what it is I’ll be doing with my life, but right now I just want to enjoy the moments in my life that are happening right now. It’s a memorable time of my life, and I don’t want to miss it.

Leave a Reply

