Planning a Premiere

Although I premiered both of my new short films Lights and ms and me at the Borealis Film Festival at my university, the festival itself wasn’t heavily advertised, so not many people had the opportunity to see them.

Since that day, I’ve been asked repeatedly when I was going to upload the films to YouTube so they could be seen. My response has always been that I wasn’t sure. There are several people that I would like to give the opportunity to see the films in a theater-esque experience, at least in a large group of people, like a premiere of sorts. This is probably most apparent for ms and me, since it was completed so close to the festival deadline, so no one really has had the chance to see it.

For this reason, I would very much like to schedule some type of screening party for those who are interested, but I’m not entirely sure how to go about doing it. I’m very proud of the films, and I would like to submit them to film festivals in the area. I need to keep that in mind because some film festivals have some pretty interesting rules for their submissions. In some cases, having public screenings of the films will disqualify them from acceptance. Sometimes I’m not even sure if my school’s film festival disqualified my films from acceptance in other festivals with that criteria.

Nonetheless, I would still like to plan something. If the plans don’t come through, then I will likely be starting some sort of promotional countdown for the films to be uploaded online. We’ll see what happens.

Leave a Reply

