Between: “Who’s the Boss?” Review

The second episode of the Netflix series Between was released last night. I mentioned in my review of the pilot episode that it seemed like it was a partnership between Netflix and another network, and I’m now positive that this is the case. The episodes are released weekly. They’re about 45 minutes per episode, and when the weekly episode is released, it appears to be released in the evening (after it would have aired on the network). I’m not exactly sure what network this is a partnership with, but I’m pretty sure that this is the case regardless.

I also mentioned previously that I was worried about what direction this show was going to go in, after it appeared that the show had played all of its cards in the first episode. After seeing the second episode, titled “Who’s the Boss,” I have a feeling that I know where the show is going, and I’m not entirely pleased.

The main conflict within the second episode comes down to the fact that there are no adults. You’ve got a handful of high school students and some in their early 20s handling all of these children. Some kids slip through the cracks. No one has any real professional experience. The outside government doesn’t seem like it’s going to help these young people any time soon, and they’ve got hundreds upon hundreds of their dead family members to deal with. The title of the episode really tells the story in that Pretty Lake is really looking for someone to be a leader.

On top of these issues, there’s instances of looting. When is taking from homes and stores more justified? This situation or that one? These situations are what leads me to what I think the show will be about moving forward. There is one family in Pretty Lake that is rich and another family that is poor and called “red neck.” Based on the conflicts that come up within this episode, I think this class difference is going to be one of the major plot points in future episodes. This episode provides multiple situations that will be explored later, in which the more lower class family is currently being blamed. Seeing as how there are only 6 episodes, this may be the bulk of the rest of the show.

Another possible conflict will be with the prison storyline, which still makes no sense to me, but seems to be coming into play. I still don’t know who this inmate is, but I’m sure we’ll soon find out.

I would say that the writing for this second episode is considerably better than with the pilot. I had no issues with the cinematography in the pilot episode, and it continues on pretty well into the second one. The show has an aesthetic. It’s pretty decent.

My main concern for Between based on the pilot episode was that the show had nowhere to go. Now I know where the show is going, and I think it will have a good amount of material to cover in the coming episodes. I’m still personally disappointed because I was hoping the show would be more of an epidemic show rather than the direction that the show has gone in. I was hoping the show would be about the process of the epidemic (like the Syfy show Helix or Contagion).

Instead, Between is taking the route of dystopian drama where leaders have to rise and people have to learn to live with each other. This isn’t necessarily a bad thing, it’s just not what I was looking for. If you’re a fan of dystopian fiction or some of the plot points that have been described, I would check out the show.

Leave a Reply

