Script from the Past

Almost 10 years ago, I started writing a script. For about 6 months, at age 15 I believe, I wrote every day, and I ended up with about 60 pages worth. One day, the laptop died, and I was unable to regain access to that script. My family and I didn’t know much about computers at the time, so I kept hold of that old thing with no way to retrieve any of my work.

I forgot about the script for the most part, until recently. Someone special was able to remove the hard drive from that laptop and give me access to my old work. I was pretty excited to see my old script again. I knew I had been working on it for a long time back in the day, but I wasn’t aware of just how much work I had completed on it. The amount that I had completed so long ago left me pleasantly surprised.

I won’t go into much detail about what the script is about, but I will divulge that it’s a horror script. That tends to be my genre of choice. Based on what I’ve read, I will undoubtedly have to go back and change some stuff. My skill in writing dialogue was pretty terrible, and I like to think it has slightly improved over the years. There are also a lot of prominent influences within the script that I’ll have to tone down.

Nonetheless, I’m really happy to have retrieved the script. I’m looking forward to spending time in the future finishing up something that I spent quite some time working on in the past. It has been added to my list of things to do, along with several other ideas.

Leave a Reply

