Premiere Update

I mentioned quite a while ago that I was planning a premiere of sorts for my newest short films. Over the past several weeks, I’ve been going back and forth about it, really trying to come up with a plan of action.

Since I am planning on submitting both films to the Chicago International Film Festival, I have to keep this premiere a private event. One of the stipulations for this particular festival is that if it were to be shown there, it would be the first public showing in Chicago. I will be abiding by the rules of the festival.

For a short period of time, I was thinking of having two private showings in two separate locations. This would help with travel times for the people I would be inviting. When I started putting a guest list together, however, I noticed that most of the people I would be inviting to a private showing have already seen the films. I didn’t see a point in putting together a second event for that, so it’s gone down to one private showing, and the invites have been sent. It will finally be happening!

After this showing, I can finally start releasing the films online for every other person who wants to see it. I’ve made a Vimeo account, so I’ll be uploading the films there rather than YouTube which I have uploaded my other work to previously. It’s kind of a step, but considering all of the other steps I’m making at the moment, this one is pretty minor.

I’m trying to start amping up the interest in the two films, leading up to the online release. So much time has gone by since they were officially finished that I feel like others have forgotten about them. Let’s hope that works out!

Leave a Reply

