Submitting to Sundance

A couple of months ago, I mentioned that I submitted my short films Lights and ms and me to the Chicago International Film Festival. We’ll be hearing a decision about that in a month or less,

This post, however, is to announce that I submitted both Lights and ms and me to the Sundance Film Festival. You would think that this would have been a stressful decision to make, but I’ve found that after submitting to the first festival, it’s significantly easier to submit to others. It all just comes down to pricing, and if you catch the early bird deadline, it’s far more reasonable.

Submitting to Sundance was a bit of a moment for me since I’ve had work shown there before. The first time, I was only a small part of a larger film with much more financial backing. This is different since I’ve had a much bigger hand in both films.

I’m not really expecting either of my films to be selected for Sundance because they select so few films in general. A friend sent me a statistic the other day that had the festival’s selection rate at less than 1%. Space is definitely limited, and I have no real pull that would help me to be selected. This selection rate does two things to my confidence/self esteem on the matter.

1) If my film IS selected, then holy cow! That’s amazing! What an honor! I will definitely have to splurge on tickets to get to the festival to be there in person. There is no doubt about it.

2) If my film IS NOT selected, then that doesn’t necessarily mean that my film wasn’t chosen because it’s bad. There are probably a lot of good submissions that didn’t make it either. It’s a high profile film festival.

Either way, I’m just glad that I was able to submit to the festival. I’m glad that I have two films which I’m proud to have submitted to the festival. I’ll be hearing back about their decision in December, and I’ll definitely be announcing the decision whichever way it may end up.

Leave a Reply

