31 Days of Reviews: The Pact II (2014)

June is a young woman who is no stranger to death. She cleans up crime scenes in the day and writes horror comics at night. It shouldn’t come as a surprise when the Judas killer enters her life.

I reviewed The Pact only a couple of days ago, so when I saw the sequel was also available to stream on Netflix, I figured I’d give that one a shot too. I mean, I wasn’t disappointed by the first one, so why not?

One of the first things that I will say about The Pact II is that it is a sequel, and we all know how sequels usually go. They normally never live up to the original, and this movie is no different. In fact, I would say that the feeling of this movie is more of a crime thriller for the most part than a scary movie. This is definitely a departure from the original which was basically a haunted house type scary movie.

In The Pact II, the story picks up about a week after the events of the first movie. We are introduced to an FBI agent (Patrick Fischler) and a cop (Scott Michael Foster) while they are at a crime scene which appears to be the work of a Judas copycat killer. It has to be a copycat killer, right? It’s known that Annie (Caity Lotz) handled the real Judas problem. We meet our new main character, June (Camilla Luddington), and we soon find out that she’s connected to Judas in ways she never would have dreamed of. Our FBI agent believes that June could be a target of this copycat killer.

Once the story establishes all of this crime stuff and sets the stage for what will be revealed in the final act of the movie, we start to see some of the scary haunting stuff start happening. There are some good creepy moments, including one where June sees a thin silhouette cast onto the wall from her lamp. The shadow seems to notice her presence and moves closer to her. I know I was squirming in my seat while watching. Overall though, the original definitely has some better moments. Scares are definitely lacking in this movie, and the scares that are there aren’t entirely effective.

 

The Pact II does bring some elements back into it from the original film. In terms of technical aspects, they tried to mimic the visual style from the first movie. I was also happy to see that they kept some of the edits where there is a long shot of black between two scenes. That was one of the best parts of the original in my opinion. Story wise, The Pact II brings back Annie (Caity Lotz) and Stevie (Haley Hudson), although I’m not very happy with how that all pans out. Those who watched the original will also recognize the character Jennifer Glick and, of course, Judas himself.

While I thought that the story became more interesting once the supernatural aspects were brought in, this movie definitely doesn’t compare to the original. I would still highly recommend The Pact over this movie.

Other reviews on the internet are generally negative about The Pact II. One of my favorite quotes from another review, which I definitely agree with, talks about how this movie is less effective than the original because of how Judas is portrayed.

…, the original, makes this guy… seem monstrous, a thoughtless grub-man nightmare hatched in some grim nook of your home you never bothered to clean up. The Pact 2 never lets you forget he’s an actor on a set, maybe drinking some tea between shots. He’s probably really nice. – Alan Scherstuhl (The Village Voice)

Even though Judas is definitely demoted to a wallflower character in this movie, I can’t really say that the movie was terrible. I’ve seen some bad movies, and this wasn’t one of them. It definitely pales to the original, and I won’t say that The Pact II is fantastic, but it’s an average movie.

Check out the trailer below.

Leave a Reply

