31 Days of Reviews 2015 – Reflection

Forgive me for the terrible joke, but as today is November 1st, October is officially Oct-over. This means that my second year doing the “31 Days of Reviews” has ended as well.

I thought that this year would be easier since I’m not a full time student, and I’m not working my retail job anymore. I thought wrong. It’s still a huge undertaking to review a new film every day. There comes a point around the middle of the month where I just get burnt out, and then I have to regain the enthusiasm that I started with. I commend everyone who reviews on a regular basis like that. That’s strength.

Of course, I still think it’s pretty impressive that I managed to post a review every day, considering that I started the month out having just cut my finger. For the first half of the month, I had stitches in my left hand, so a lot of those reviews were typed one-handed. Needless to say, it took considerably longer to write them that way. As the month went on, it got easier, so I started adding images and trailers to my reviews. I think that was a good move. It makes them seem more engaging to read, at least that’s what I think. I’ll try to do that for everything I review in the future.

Speaking of which, I didn’t get the same feedback that I got last year with my reviews. Last year, there was a lot of feedback that I got through Twitter from the actors and filmmakers on my reviews. That was definitely cool, but I didn’t get that this year. Instead, what I got this year was a lot of attention from other reviewers here on wordpress. That’s equally as cool. I think the difference in responses comes from the movies that I reviewed this year compared with last year. I gained a lot of followers through this month of reviews though, so I hope I don’t disappoint too many people when I cut back on them.

Moving forward, I think I’m going to try to review a film once a week. I do enjoy writing, and maybe this goal will be easier for me to stick with long term. Other than that, my blog will go back to having professional and creative updates from my work. I’ve been itching to start on some new things. I’ve had some potential short film ideas come to me over this past month, and I’m also going to be working on some freelance stuff that’s been shelved for far too long.

Looking forward to see what’s to come, and I hope you enjoy the ride.

Leave a Reply

