A Light From My Window

Many of my films are based off of things that I’ve actually witnessed or experienced. Occupied is based on a feeling that I had while alone in a public bathroom at night. Lights is based on a phenomenon that occurs more often than we think. ms and me is based on my lived experiences with multiple sclerosis. This means that I’m always looking at my life through a lens. What could I translate into a film that would speak to others?

I often write my dreams down if they are interesting enough to elaborate on. I’m very open about the Strawberry Shortcake notebook I keep on my desk with script ideas I’ve been writing since I was a child. It’s not just dreams and events that can inspire me though, sometimes it can be a single visual.

Recently, I’ve been noticing a view out of a window a lot. Now that the time has changed, so it gets darker earlier, I see it even more often. I updated my Facebook about this a while back, but now is my time to elaborate a little bit more.

Creepy-Light

Every time I see this visual, it feels really creepy. It doesn’t matter if the blinds are down, as they are in this picture, or if they aren’t. My mind always twists this visual to make it seem scarier, which is perfect for my line of work. The light itself is pretty ominous, but just imagine if someone was standing there, looking up at your window.

Now, I don’t know if I will actually write something that will utilize this. I have a lot of ideas bouncing around in my head that could potentially use this imagery, but the hard part is just choosing one. I can’t really use the visual for more than one film or else the effect of it is diminished. I may decide to use it at some point, or I may decide against it.

In that case, it would just remain as a still frame. Does it entice your imagination as it did mine?

Leave a Reply

