Crave from the Grave

I was made aware quite a while ago that this year would be the last that the ‘Doritos Crash the Superbowl’ contest would be taking place. It was pretty sad to hear that since it’s been going on for a while, and I’ve always thought the concept was pretty neat.

Since it’s the last year, a lot of people have been telling me that I should submit something. The problem was that I couldn’t think of anything to submit! One of the things I always noticed about the Doritos commercials selected is that the ideas behind them are always a bit wild and out of the ordinary. That’s not really my style, so I never really thought I had a chance.

In any case, a friend of mine sent me a video he made the other day. He wanted me to look at it and give some feedback. It turns out, he’s submitting to this contest. His idea definitely stands a chance. Its got action and comedy involved, and I think it would be a hit. After giving some feedback, I showed some members of my family, and the next thing I knew, my brother was spouting off all of these ideas for what I should submit myself.

His original idea, which I definitely would have gone with, was zombies. He told me I shouldn’t sacrifice my usual themes. I should just roll with it. Zombies are pretty “in” right now, and the super bowl airs around the same time that The Walking Dead comes back from its midseason break. It would have been perfect. I definitely would have gone with that idea if not for the time crunch I’ve put myself in. There would be no way that I could find a post-apocalyptic looking location, wrangle enough extras to be a horde of zombies, and find a make-up artist who could turn them into zombies, plus filming and editing the commercial in a little over a week. As much as I liked the idea, I had to think of something else.

That’s how I came up with the idea that I’m currently pursuing. It will be titled “Crave From the Grave” and contain my attempts at scares and comedy. I’m going to be as secretive about the details as possible since I haven’t had the chance to film anything yet, but I’m sure there will be plenty of updates to come.

I’ve been working out both the special effects and the practical effects. The script and storyboard are complete. I’m set to start filming this weekend. Wish me luck. I’m going to need it.

One response to “Crave from the Grave

  1. Pingback: Crave From the Grave – Production | Haley Noelle Cummings

Leave a Reply

