2015, A Summary

This has been a very eventful year for me. It’s been full of experiences and stepping stones, both in my personal life and in my career.

For starters, this blog was created very early on in 2015. I wasn’t new to the blogging experience, but after several issues with my previous blog, I switched to this one. Ever since, my experience has been significantly better. I’ve gotten much more feedback from readers. It’s been great. I’ve even begun writing weekly reviews, as many of my followers already know.

In May of this year, I finally graduated from college. Making the switch from academic life to professional life has been a bit of a struggle, but it’s somewhat nice to not have the same school pressures I’ve had for many years. I’ve been able to work on much more freelance work and pursue my own interests in the field. While returning to school isn’t entirely out of the question, I don’t see myself going back for graduate studies in the near future.

While finishing up with school, I was able to complete two new short films, Lights and ms and me. These were the first films I completed since mid 2013, so it was nice to be doing something creative again. Finishing Lights was a big triumph for me since it was in the planning stages for over a year. It’s my biggest project to date, and I’m incredibly proud of it.

In addition to the completion of these films, and because of their completion, I began submitting to film festivals. My films even received awards, which was incredibly invigorating. I was so proud of my work that I even took the plunge to submit to the Sundance Film Festival. Of course, my films were not selected for this year’s festival, but I’m still happy to say that I thought they were worth submitting. We’re still waiting on word from some of the more local film festivals, and I’m hoping to hear some good news soon.

I wrapped up the year with a new office location. Hopefully this will provide me with a space to work more comfortably than I’ve been able to in the past.

It’s been an eventful year, and I’m looking forward to seeing what 2016 will bring. I’ve got some plans for what I want to make of it. Let’s see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

