User Error

I had a bad day.

I messed up.

I honestly don’t know what I was thinking.

Yesterday, a friend of mine asked me to come along with him on a shoot for a new reality show. I agreed, of course. I brought along my own camera because I wanted to make sure I was comfortable on the equipment I was working with. We shot at locations which were close by my home, so I was comfortable with the area. I clicked with most of the people there. It was a bit more than decent.

The whole time I was at the shoot, I was completely taken aback by how dark my shots were. It didn’t make any sense to me. I’ve used my camera indoors before. Why was it so dark now? I was bothered by it throughout the whole day, and I knew that I didn’t get as many good shots to help out as I should have. It didn’t make any sense to me at all, and I continued thinking about it throughout the rest of the day.

In the evening, it finally went off like a firework in my head. I had completely forgotten about ISO! That was the source of my problem, and it was so simple. I still can’t believe it.

At first, I thought that I had confused how ISO and aperture functioned. If you aren’t aware, in a basic sense, you can brighten your shot by lowering the aperture and raising the ISO. They help with the same problem, but they function differently in that way. At first I thought that I had confused them by thinking they functioned in the same way.

I thought about it even further, and even that doesn’t make sense. When we first began filming, we were outside in the sun, and I had checked my ISO to see if I could do anything with it to make the scene less bright. Upon checking it, I saw that the ISO was already at its lowest setting, so nothing could be done at the time. The problem is that, for some reason, I maintained that thought process throughout the rest of the day.

“Nothing can be done with the ISO,” my brain continued to think as we moved from outside to inside, and my camera remained at the darkest ISO setting.

It really pains me that I would make such a simple, but crucial mistake like that. If I had only thought to check the ISO again while inside, I wouldn’t have had any problems. Instead, I wasn’t able to capture much footage indoors, and the footage that I could capture is pretty dark. I wouldn’t be surprised if I wasn’t asked back to help again, and I wouldn’t blame them for not including me. I messed up, big time.

It’s incredibly bothersome. For one, I’m so embarrassed that at this point in my life and career, I would have made that type of mistake. I have no idea what was going through my mind yesterday to make such a simple mistake so possible. In addition, I feel terrible that I let my friend down. He asked me to help him out, and I completely failed at that.

If it isn’t painfully obvious, I’m still pretty messed up by it. I know I have to get over it, and move on to the next thing, but I’m finding that pretty hard to do right now.

Leave a Reply

