Accepted to Geneva!

Way back in August or September, I mentioned that I had submitted my short films Lights and ms and me to the Geneva Film Festival. The notification date for this festival finally arrived, and I’m pleased to announce that Lights has been selected in the student shorts category!

I’m incredibly overjoyed. When I received the notification, I immediately started calling the cast and crew involved, and my mother of course. I was pacing back and forth with a flood of energy, and I couldn’t wipe the smile off of my face.

Honestly, this acceptance couldn’t have come at a better time. My experience with festivals hasn’t been the best, as many of you will remember me stating in previous posts. I was at the point where I was just giving up. I started telling myself that I just wasn’t at the point in my career where I was good enough.

While I’m still humbled by the festivals that didn’t accept my work, I definitely feel rejuvenated by this opportunity. It gave me the energy to continue trying when all other signs were telling me to cut my losses. I’m very grateful for this.

I’m sure I’ll be updating with any other information that comes my way. For now, I’m just amazed by the opportunity that I have before me and the experience that it will help me gain.

This is a wonderful way to start 2016, and I hope it is a sign of other things this year will bring.

One response to “Accepted to Geneva!

  1. Pingback: Upcoming GFF 2016 | Haley Noelle Cummings

Leave a Reply

