New Camera – C100 Mark II

A couple of weeks ago, I wrote about how I was looking into updating my camera. Basically, after seeing my film Lights at the Geneva Film Festival, I realized it was time to update from my Canon T3i. I’d been using that camera for my films since 2012, and it was about time for me to upgrade.

About a week ago, I made the official announcement on my Facebook that I had purchased the Canon C100 Mark II. It was expensive. I got it on sale, but it was definitely a huge price increase from the camera I had been using. I got my T3i for $800. I got the C100 on sale for $4500. Big difference. I’m still reeling from that purchase.

Once the money left my account, I was better able to adjust to having this new, much more fancy camera. I’m not really the tech type, so I won’t lie, my more tech friends have been looking at the more tech details and then relaying them back to me. Those who know me know that I’m much more of a creative type. I can understand the functionality of a camera and how all the tech terms are supposed to work, but I can be easily overloaded with all the jargon.

IMG_3913

Taking a picture of the new camera with the old camera.

There are definitely a lot of benefits to this camera that I’ve been seeing since we unboxed it. The viewfinder is fabulous. I’ve never been able to really enjoy using a viewfinder because of my eyesight. I’ve always relied on the preview screens, but the viewfinder on the C100 Mark II is pretty great. Mostly, it’s big. I like that a lot. The mobility of the preview screen is a significant improvement on the Mark I that I was originally looking at. I’m glad I didn’t go with the Mark I. Since it’s more of a video camera than the DSLR I’ve been used to working with, it also has a lot more of the controls that are known to be on video cameras. It’s a really good mix between a DSLR and a video camera, and that works really well for me at this time.

We’ve been doing a lot of test shots with the C100 for my upcoming short film project. It’s called 3:03, and I’ll be posting about that soon. Since 3:03 is intended to be another film shot at night, we were recently testing the camera’s low light ability. While it isn’t perfect in low light, my new camera completely obliterates my old camera in the dark. I’m definitely impressed.

It’s still not the absolute best camera in the industry. There’s no way I could afford that. It’s definitely a big improvement for me and my work though, so I’m looking forward to working with it on my upcoming projects.

Leave a Reply

