3:03 – Pre Production

The idea for my next short film project came from a nightmare I had a couple of months ago, inspired by the paranoia caused by an incident I experienced (similar to most of my other work so far). It took a while for me to actually write the script and make the storyboard for the film. I spent a good amount of time saying the idea verbally to people in order to gauge their reactions.

We’re planning on using this short film in a contest. I’ll keep the details of that a secret for now, just in case this idea doesn’t pan out before the film is completed. If submitted, we have the possibility of winning some equipment and other prizes which will help make even more films in the future.

Since we’re planning on submitting this film to the contest, we’re abiding by the rules of said contest. One of these rules is that the film has to be three minutes or less. This will be a huge difference when compared to my work from last year. I’m hoping the length doesn’t disappoint too many people because I think it will work well for this particular idea.

Writing the script was pretty simple. The idea was laid out in my head from the start. It was one of those really vivid nightmares, the kind where you wake up and can’t get it out of your mind. Actually putting the words down on paper made it seem incredibly simple. It’s very short, sweet, and to the point. I’m hoping the visuals will give it a bit more of a creepy spin.


I just recently finished the storyboard. Visualizing has proved to be one of the bigger challenges with my team because we all work differently. What makes sense to me doesn’t necessarily make sense to the camera operator, so we have found our ways of working around that. It increases pre-production time, but it makes the production process go far more smoothly.

This will be the first project that I use my new camera on. We’ve been practicing the shots for the past several weeks in order to see what kind of lenses, lighting, and blocking we’ll need. There are still a few things that we need to iron out before the shoot, but overall we feel very prepared. Lighting has been a huge aspect to deal with. We’re learning more about how to make a dark scene look dark without being too dark to make out any detail. It’s been a work in progress.

It’s going to be fun to actually start putting this film together. We practiced one of the more important shots last night. This shot needs to be just right in order for the whole message of the film to come across the way we’d like. I don’t want to go into too much detail because the film will be so short that any spoilers would severely damage the effect.

In any case, production will start on 3:03 in a matter of days. I’m very excited to start putting this together and hopefully creep out viewers once again.

Leave a Reply

