MyRodeReel 2016

I realized recently that I’ve been really terrible at attempting to promote my submission to the 2016 MyRodeReel competition. I’m not that great with contests. I’m not expecting to get many votes, so sharing hasn’t been on the top of my list of priorities.

The least I can do is write one blog post about it while it’s still happening.

Submissions closed on June 1, 2016. I uploaded a few days prior to that. At this point, there are over 1200 submissions. The competition is going to be pretty intense. Winners will start to be announced on June 29, 2016, and the final winners will be announced on July 6, 2016.

My submission to the competition was my short film project, 3:03. I’ve blogged about it previously through the entire production process. You can find my submission here, complete with a behind the scenes video.

3:03 is classified as horror and drama. I’m eligible to win as a female filmmaker, and I think we may have some of a shot with the technical sound design category as well. We shall see how that eventually goes. So far, I’ve had viewers say that the film is “really scary” and “unsettling.” I’ll take that as a win.

When the competition is over, I will be making another post with the videos actually embedded for easy viewing. Since voting is a part of the competition, I’ve mainly been sharing the link to the contest page. If you happen to watch the film, and you want to vote, I thank you in advance.

Looking forward to seeing how all of this goes!

Leave a Reply

