June 2016

It has recently come to my attention that I haven’t posted anything about my career in quite some time. If not for Weekly Review Wednesday, my blog would be completely inactive. I need to remember that while the reviews are nice to have on a regular basis, this isn’t what the blog’s main purpose is.

The reason that I haven’t been updating is mainly because the things I’ve been doing aren’t the funnest to blog about or read about. I have been active, but it’s been a lot of waiting, some freelance work, and some teaching. Waiting is boring. Freelance work has privacy concerns, and teaching is what it is.

Since June 2016 is ending, I figured now would be the time to kind of collect it all and write about it. In this way, I’ll be updating, but it won’t be as boring as it could be.

First up: waiting. I wrote previously about how we submitted 3:03 to the My Rode Reel competition. The month of June pretty much consisted of sharing that link around and waiting to hear some results. The voting process for this particular competition required people to log in through the Rode website, their Google + account, or their Facebook account, so I’m not expecting to win the viewer’s choice award. I didn’t shove it down people’s throats because of that. So far, the competition has announced the technical winners and the genre winners, and 3:03 didn’t win for any of those categories. I’m still waiting on the results for a few more categories, so I’ll go ahead and make a recap post about that when it’s all said and done.

I usually don’t go into competitions expecting to win anything, but that chance is always there. I did get some nice feedback from people I’m not acquainted with, so I’ll take that as a win.

Second: Freelance. I’m not really one to talk openly and publicly about my freelance work while it’s still a work in progress. I’m sure there’s some legal etiquette about maintaining privacy, but I just personally don’t like to speak on the topic. I won’t go into too many details because of this, but since some of the projects are completed, I can go into it in a general sense. I’ve been doing some video work for up and coming life coach, Niko Ana Burkhardt. She needed some video for her website, and she also needed a bit of help with some of her videos for clients. We do plan on working with each other more as time goes on.

You can find more information about Niko Ana’s coaching services, and see one of the videos I helped create by visiting: nikoanaburkhardt.com

*I should probably figure out a happy medium in order to discuss my freelance work appropriately. I will continue to work on that.*

Third: Teaching. I signed on to help out with the Xcelerate summer camps at Waubonsee Community College for another year. I specifically signed on to help with the ‘Lights, Camera, Action!’ camp, which I have helped with since 2012. With the first week coming to a close, I’ll probably be able to write more in detail about that experience in the next couple of days.

In addition to ‘Lights, Camera, Action!’, I’ve agreed to expand my duties this year. I’ll also be helping out with a computer programming class and a Minecraft animators class on top of this year’s ‘Lights, Camera, Action!’. Since these will be new experiences for me, I may possibly blog about those as well.

So there you go! That’s what I’ve been up to. I’ll try to blog about more of the career stuff, but rest assured that Weekly Review Wednesday will still continue. I have several reviews written and ready to share in the coming weeks!

Leave a Reply

