Xcelerate 2016: Week 3

This week was very interesting.

When the week began, I was helping teach Minecraft Animators. Going into it, I was very worried that this week would be another one where I didn’t understand the material. I was pleasantly surprised to find that Minecraft Animators was actually really close to what I normally do! The class had almost nothing to do with Minecraft, and instead, it was about making a short animated film with Minecraft characters.

The biggest aspect about this camp was understanding keyframes, and this is something that I am familiar with from my normal film experience. The biggest thing for me was understanding the interface that the kids were using. Other than that, I was perfectly capable of answering questions! We even had a day dedicated to planning and storyboarding which is right up my alley!

I was really excited about this camp and learning something about animation, but unfortunately, the class was cancelled really early on. We weren’t able to work with the animations all the way to completion.

For the rest of the week, I bounced around wherever I was needed. On Wednesday, I was an additional hand in the LEGO Video Game Maker class. That one was just as difficult for me as computer programming because I was not grasping the interface. For the remainder of the week, I was a part of the Science Xplosion camp. This one was pretty fun. On my first day, we did some vinegar and baking soda reactions and some tie dye. The second day we made fossils. It was a good time.

On top of all of that, I was working with the instructor for Lights, Camera, Action to develop a bit of a different schedule for our class next week. I’m hoping that our new plan works out well and that the kids can learn just as much, if not more, from this new curriculum. More details on that to come! I can’t wait to get back to what I do best.

Leave a Reply

