Weekly Review: Suicide Squad (2016)

In response to the appearance and disappearance of Superman, the U.S government is encouraged to create its own task force of meta-humans in an attempt to prepare for potential future threats. They comprise a squad of criminals, each with their own special skill and the inability to refuse the job.

I never had the chance to see Suicide Squad in theaters. Honestly, the visuals seemed intriguing, but I wasn’t very interested in the plot, so I decided I would wait on it. I heard plenty of negative things about the movie from people on the Internet, so when it finally came time for me to see it, my expectations were pretty low.

Suicide Squad has a completely star studded cast. It stars Will Smith (Concussion) as Deadshot, Margot Robbie (Focus) as Harley Quinn, Joel Kinnaman (Robocop) as Rick Flag, Viola Davis (How to Get Away with Murder) as Amanda Waller, and Jai Courtney (Terminator Genisys) as Captain Boomerang. The movie also has roles played by Jay Hernandez (Bad Moms), Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje (Game of Thrones), Cara Delevingne (Paper Towns), newcomer Karen Fukuhara, and Scott Eastwood (Snowden). In addition to all of these actors, Suicide Squad also attempts to re-kindle The Joker with a performance by Jared Leto (Mr. Nobody).

screen-shot-2017-01-04-at-8-23-50-pm

I mentioned above that I went into Suicide Squad with very low expectations, and unfortunately, the movie did not exceed those expectations. To keep it simple, I thought that the story was confusing, as if it had been torn apart on the cutting room floor. There were many scenes and shots that felt forced. It didn’t flow in a cohesive way. Due to this, it was very difficult to keep up with what was going on. One of the twists toward the end fell completely flat for me.

It really is unfortunate because I didn’t think the acting was bad. It is a good cast. It’s just that a lot of the dialogue seems incredibly forced, just like the story. Will Smith’s character, in particular, has far too many lines that just reiterate the obvious. Clearly, it’s meant to be comical, but I didn’t find it so.

I was interested by Leto’s portrayal of The Joker. The writing wasn’t the best, but I did like some of the things that he brought to the character. I thought his laugh was particularly good, very demented. It definitely felt like the movie was supposed to feature more of his character than it did. I’ve heard rumors that he filmed much more for the film, but most of these parts were cut.

On that same note, I will point out that the scenes between Harley Quinn and The Joker were some of the more compelling scenes in the movie. In many ways, as compelling as their scenes were, they felt out of place in the movie overall. It’s very difficult to describe, and it’s part of the reason why the story was so hard to follow. There are too many scenes with Harley Quinn and The Joker for a movie that, in the end, doesn’t really have anything to do with The Joker. He just happens to be there.

I will also point out at this point that Suicide Squad heavily romanticizes the relationship between Harley Quinn and The Joker, putting many of the abusive aspects of their relationship on the back burner. I’ve seen many fans upset by this. I will say that I enjoyed Margot Robbie as her character in this movie, but it is a loose adaptation.

In terms of the overall look of Suicide Squad, I wasn’t happy with that either. The colors are very visually pleasing, but the way that the movie is visualized seems far more tacky. The camera angles weren’t that bad, but the editing was difficult to handle. When you add these aspects with the final story, it just isn’t appealing. It’s more muddled than anything.

It really is unfortunate that the end result of Suicide Squad turns out this way because it could have been something incredibly good. If the story was executed better, the performances wouldn’t have been as wasted as they were. There are a couple of things that stand out about the movie, but in the end, I probably wouldn’t recommend it unless you’re a big fan of DC. The soundtrack is absolutely amazing. I’ll definitely give it that. I just wish the movie would have been better.

I’ve heard that there may be a solo Harley Quinn movie in the future, featuring Margot Robbie again. If that does happen, I would probably watch it. Other than her on-again-off-again accent, I found her performance pretty decent. It would be interesting to see if Jared Leto would reprise his role as The Joker, if necessary, in that solo film. I would like to see more of him if given the chance.

Critic reviews for Suicide Squad have been pretty negative as far as I’ve seen. I have seen that fans have a differing opinion. There are a decent amount of people who liked Suicide Squad. It’s just unfortunate that I’m not one of those people.

In any case, check out the trailer below to see for yourself!

Leave a Reply

