Xcelerate 2017: Week 4

The end of week 4 has arrived! I had two different classes this time around, and both of them were quite messy.

My first class was all about decorating cupcakes. Due to a lack of materials, I wasn’t able to actually decorate any of them myself, but I did pick up on a few things. I know (theoretically) how to create the bag used to pipe the frosting. There were several lessons about how to make various shapes and designs, and the week ended with a lesson about creating different types of flowers.

It was pretty fun. I enjoyed the class. It was also relaxing in many ways when compared to some of the other classes I’ve assisted so far. There was quite a bit of set up and clean up though. That was probably the most stressful part of it all.


The other class I was assisting with was a painting class with 7-10 year olds. As you can imagine, giving acrylic paint to children of this age causes quite a mess. This was another class that required quite a bit of clean up time. The kids were pretty rambunctious, but it was still a fun time. It definitely gave me a bit of inspiration to maybe paint my own things later on.

In the meantime, I’ve been working on the edit for the kids’ film from Lights Camera Action last week. Due to my busy schedule, it’s taken me a bit longer than I was hoping to get everything completed, but the edit is almost finished, and I’ll be turning it in at the beginning of the coming week.

Leave a Reply

