Weekly Review: Doctor Who (Series 10)

The Doctor is tasked with remaining on Earth and guarding a vault that holds a deadly secret. When he meets Bill though, his adventurous nature gets the better of him and he repeatedly leaves his post to travel with his new companion in the TARDIS.

The last two seasons of Doctor Who have been pretty iffy for me. This was never due entirely to Peter Capaldi’s portrayal of the character. It was more due to the writing and chemistry with companion Clara Oswald (played by Jenna Coleman). Who could forget those sonic sunglasses? I was not a fan.

Capaldi’s portrayal of The Doctor has definitely resulted in mixed opinions. There are many people who don’t like him as the character, and there are also plenty who love him for the role. I will admit that he started off pretty shaky with me. As I saw more episodes though, he really grew on me. He may be one of my favorite renditions of The Doctor from the recent seasons. My favorite is still Eccleston at this point, but Capaldi could very well change that the longer I have to reflect.

Screen Shot 2017-07-18 at 6.55.02 PM

Season 10 (or Series 10 as the BBC deems it) is a considerable improvement on Season 9. I had a very hard time getting through most of the episodes in the previous season. They just didn’t have that spark I was looking for.

This spark is rediscovered in Season 10 with the introduction of Bill Potts, played by Pearl Mackie. Bill is a return to the idea that The Doctor’s companions are just normal people, none of this “Impossible Girl” or “The Girl Who Waited” business that the two previous companions had going on. She is compassionate, funny, imaginative, a breath of fresh air honestly. Her life outside of the TARDIS plays into the overall story arc of the season. I needed the spark back. I’m glad that I got it.

Season 10 also continues with the character of Nardole, first seen in “The Husbands of River Song” episode. This is another addition that I was iffy about at first because I’m not typically a fan of the actor Matt Lucas. As the season progressed though, he grew on me. I enjoyed his self depreciating, dead pan humor. It was just enough of a comedic touch to be enjoyable.

This season also brings in better stories. It was a return to form for me. The stakes are higher in a lot of the episodes, and even the more filler type episodes have heavier themes. The season has its fair share of mind bending moments as well, extremely interesting scenarios. It was the Doctor Who that I’ve been yearning for, but haven’t been receiving lately.

Speaking of story, this season completes a pretty hefty character arc that The Doctor has been going through since he regenerated as 12. When you look at the last two seasons as a whole, it’s all been a learning experience. The Doctor has grown from a bitter old man, resentful of the people he always has to save, to a man who knows what makes him save people in the first place. It was a very poetic end to the season.

Doctor Who will return for a Christmas special during the holiday season. I’m looking forward to it, but I’m also not looking forward to it because I know what tidings it will bring with it.

Since the announcements have been officially made, I guess I can say it here. Peter Capaldi will finish his run as The Doctor in the Christmas 2017 episode. He will be replaced by Jodie Whittaker. I’m pretty excited about the possibilities that a female Doctor will bring. I loved what they did with The Master’s regeneration as Missy, so I’m hoping that this rendition of The Doctor will be just as good.

At the same time, I will be very sad to see Capaldi go. I mentioned earlier that he had really grown on me. His version of The Doctor will be sorely missed by me. I hope the writing continues on the up swing that it’s currently on. The upcoming possibilities would be a shame to miss out on.

Leave a Reply

