Xcelerate 2017: Week 6

Week 6 of Xcelerate is complete! The end is in sight. I won’t lie. The fact that I’m getting so close to the finish line is making it harder to wake up in the morning. The list of things I have to do keeps getting longer and longer, and I won’t be able to fully dedicate myself to any of that until the classes are over.

With that being said, this week wasn’t too bad. I had two classes yet again. One of them was a familiar camp, and the other camp was new, but it covered familiar material.

The first class I was working with this week was a photography class. This was the one that was new, but familiar. Throughout the week, the students played a variety of games that challenged their creativity while taking photographs. There were scavenger hunts, a “photo bomb” activity, as well as daily challenges such as taking pictures that interpreted words like “hot,” “blue,” or “wet”.

It was a good time. I think the kids had fun taking the photos throughout the week. On Friday, they compiled all of their prints onto a poster board and had a bit of a show for parents and visitors.

The other class I was working was a familiar one. I was back in the science class (which took part in for two days last summer after a different class cancellation). It proves to be a popular one. There were 25 students in the class this week, all between the ages of 7-10. Take that how you will.

In this class throughout the week, we did a variety of little crafts and experiments. We made a few types of slime, made some chemical reactions, attempted making a watermelon explode, lots of fun stuff. It was also pretty messy. I ended up bringing some old clothes to change into for this class specifically.

There is only one more week of Xcelerate left for me this summer. Let’s hope it’s a good one!

Leave a Reply

