Xcelerate 2017: Week 7

Finally! After two straight months of kids’ camps, I’m officially done with Xcelerate summer camps in 2017. It’s been a long, long several weeks. I’ve had my hand in everything from ukulele to Minecraft to cupcakes and science. Some of these areas I was familiar in, and for some of these areas I was simply tossed in. In any case, it proved to be pretty challenging throughout.

This final week put me back in my most familiar camp, as well as a camp where I was familiar with the subject matter. I thought it was going to be a decently easy week, and in many ways I was correct. In other ways, I was very, very wrong.

I’ll start off by discussing the camp I was a part of that was new to me, but also familiar. The camp was called Digital Artists. It focused on Photoshop and Illustrator. I’m no master in Photoshop by any means, but I do use it occasionally, so there were things that I knew and things I didn’t. I have never used Illustrator before so that was way out of my league. On the surface, this particular camp was easy enough. There were other challenges to deal with though that were more personal for me.

Maybe I was just more sensitive to it because it was the last week of camps. I’d been dealing with kids, ages 7-14, for many weeks. It gets hard after a while. Sometimes the kids really just do not have a filter. Sometimes they say or do some pretty mean things. Sometimes it’s intentional. Sometimes it’s not.

The issue I was dealing with during this particular camp had to do with the kids’ respect for me as a teacher. I know I’m not the instructor. I’m just the Assistant Instructor. It was still pretty upsetting to have them simply ignore me whenever they had a question. They would raise their hand. I would walk over. I would ask what they needed help with. They would either completely ignore me or come out and say they didn’t want to ask me the question. In that regard, it was a rough week, especially being the final week. The end was in sight, and I was definitely feeling it.

Other than that, this week found me back in my most familiar camp. It was the second week of Lights, Camera, Action! We had some repeats from previous years. It’s always nice to see kids return because they enjoyed the time they had. Overall, it was a really mature group. That always makes things easier.

Following the new class outline, we separated the full class into two groups. They split themselves up based on what genre they wanted to do. One group wanted to do an action film. The other group wanted to do a scary film. Guess which group I got put with this time? Yep, another scary movie. They just gravitated to me with no prompting whatsoever. I must just give off that vibe.

Since this is my last week of the camps, the instructors I work with told me they’d do me a solid and not ask me to edit the film I helped make this time around. I had edited ‘Truth or Dare’ from last year and ‘Empty’ from the last camp. Not having to edit this one will give me a much needed break, and it will also free up my time to take care of my other mounting responsibilities.

If you’re interested in seeing the final films from the Lights, Camera, Action camps, be on the look out for an upcoming compilation post of those films in the next couple weeks.

Other than that, my time with the summer camps this year is done. We will now return to our regularly scheduled programming.

Leave a Reply

