Categories
Entertainment Reviews

Weekly Review: Downsizing (2017)

In the near future, as a result of overpopulation draining the world’s resources, a procedure known as downsizing is invented that shrinks people to about five inches tall. The people who choose to become small experience life changing moments beyond the procedure itself.

Downsizing is a 2017 drama with comedic moments and some elements of science fiction. It’s written by Alexander Payne and Jim Taylor, directed by Payne, and it stars Matt Damon (The Martian), Christoph Waltz (Inglourious Basterds), Hong Chau (Inherent Vice), Kristen Wiig (Bridesmaids), and Jason Sudeikis (We’re the Millers).

Based off of the initial trailers, Downsizing appeared to have an interesting premise. The social commentary about a world draining enough of its resources to make a procedure like this a probability was an interesting enough concept. The possibilities of what the film would do with the characters once they were small was another concept that piqued my interest.

Screen Shot 2018-03-31 at 1.04.31 AM

With that in mind, the beginning of this movie is really promising. It’s definitely slow, but it continues the creative concepts that were seen in the trailers. I found it interesting to see the predicament that the main characters were in that makes them decide to downsize. Throughout the beginning of the film, I cast aside my worries and was able to enjoy it for the creative idea that it was.

Unfortunately, this enthusiasm didn’t last long for me. Once the procedure is complete, the story doesn’t really take advantage of the possibilities that come with the characters being so small. Other than a few gags put in here and there, it’s easy to forget that the characters are small at all.

The overall story soon becomes a typical drama about a man discovering that there is more to life if he breaks out of his comfort zone. The actual act of downsizing is just a prop to get there. I found it really disappointing to be honest. I feel that the film drags for the most part, and it’s way longer than it needs to be.

Hong Chau delivers a stand out performance here. I have mixed feelings about the how the accent used in the film is framed, but the emotions she delivers here are fantastic. She made me cry. She made me laugh. Her character is without a doubt the most interesting and memorable part of this film for me. I’m really hoping that this film opens more doors for her. She’s extremely talented. I think she deserves more acting gigs.

Christoph Waltz also gives a good performance here, but I’m usually never disappointed when I see him in a film. He’s pretty good at playing eccentric characters, and he almost always brings something mischievous along with his performance. I find him very watchable. His role in this film is no exception.

Overall though, I’m sorry to say that this film really bored me. I couldn’t wait for it to be over. Maybe it’s because the story ended up being a type of film that I don’t typically watch, but it could also be because I was expecting something completely different.

In the end though, my opinion of this film isn’t very positive. I probably wouldn’t recommend it. I feel that your time would be better spent elsewhere.

One reply on “Weekly Review: Downsizing (2017)”

Leave a comment